2019: Agbakoba’s Nigerian Third Force name officers to drive vision of sacking APC, PDP


The Nigeria Intervention Movement, NIM, on Wednesday announced itself as Nigerian Third Force conceived to rescue the country from corrupt and inert political leadership and system by 2019.

It noted that the political elite currently in the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, have failed Nigerians, for lack of clear Ideology and principle on how to run the country.

It added that the political elite, since independence, particularly since the return of democracy in 1999, have proven that it is ill-equipped and unprepared for the challenge of transforming Nigeria into a nation that is prosperous and can create a veritable environment for the realisation of its citizens’ potentials and well-being.

Prominent members of the group include: former Cross River governor, Donald Duke, former governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, Charles Soludo, Tafawa Balewa, and Prof. Pat Utomi. Others are former Education minister, Dr. Oby Ezekwesili, former Information minister, Frank Nweke II, Col. Abubakar Umar (retd), Ayo Obe, Rabiu Ishyaku Rabiu, former presidential adviser, Akin Osuntokun.

In a statement from its secretariat in Abuja, NIM said it would no longer stand aloof given that the current class of entrenched leaders, if left to their schemes and antics, will lead Nigeria into a state of indescribable human misery, characterised by death, hunger, disease, illiteracy and manipulation”.

NIM said it has therefore decided to come up with a third political force platform “to mobilise all citizens of goodwill and conscience towards engendering a new political system and culture in Nigeria, capable of bringing about the desired opportunities for all to actualise their dreams and potentialities; a nation where no man or group is oppressed.”

Those to drive NIM’s vision were listed as follows: Dr. Olisa Agbakoba (Co-Chair); Dr. Jhalil Tafawa Balewa (Co-Chair); Professor Pat Utomi (Deputy Chair); Rabiu Ishyaku Rabiu (Deputy Chair); Comrade Isah Aremu (Deputy Chair) and Chief Akin Osuntokun (Deputy Chair).

Other officers include Hajia Aisha Aliyu (Women Leader), Mr Dayo Israel (Youth Leader), Dr Osagie Obayuwana (Legal Adviser), Hajia Shetu Alfa Ibrahim (Treasurer), Mallam Naseer Kura (Publicity Secretary), Col. Abubakar Umar Dangiwa (Ex -Officio), Dr Oby Ezekwesili (Ex -Officio) and Mrs Ayo Obe (Ex-Officio).

The remaining officers are Sir Olawale Okunniyi (National Secretary/Director General) while chairmen of standing committees are: Mr Donald Duke (Finance Committee); Prof Jibrin Ibrahim (Ideology Commission); Comrade Najeem Usman (Political Commission); Mallam Tanko Yinusa (Mobilisation); Mr Wale Ajani (Students & Youth); Mr Taiwo Akinola (Diaspora Commission); Mr Tony Uranta (Strategy & Engagement) and Mallam Shittu Kabir (Contact/Logistics).

The statement described NIM as “a pro-democracy movement and pressure group of like-minded Nigerians who are committed to changing the political order, which has failed to fashion a Nigeria that works for all”.

Leave a Reply