37 Reps dump APC for PDP, ADC


There was commotion in the House of Representatives on Tuesday as 37 members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, announced their resignation from the ruling party.

They include 33 lawmakers from Kano, Sokoto, Kwara, Kogi and other states, who defected from the APC to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP. The four others from Oyo State defected from the APC to African Democratic Congress, ADC.

This came few hours after 14 APC senators moved to the PDP in the upper legislative chamber.

In the defection letter read by the Speaker of the house, Yakubu Dogara,  the lawmakers cited factionalisation and division in the party as their reason for leaving.

The development has caused jubilation in the House as PDP members of the House moved to welcome the defecting lawmakers.

Leave a Reply