Anambra Central: APGA’s Victor Umeh wins rerun


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, at 2:30am on Sunday declared Chief Victor Umeh of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, winner of Saturday’s Anambra Central Senatorial rerun election.

In a landslide victory, Umeh swept the January 13 poll with 64,879 votes to defeat Chris Ngige of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who came second with 975 votes while the Progressive Peoples Alliance, PPA’s Igwilo Michael garnered 116 votes to come third.

Umeh, a former National Chairman of APGA, won in all the seven local government areas where the rerun election was conducted namely: Njikoka, Awka North, Idemili South, Dunukofia, Awka South, Anaocha and Idemili North.

Votes were cancelled in four polling units in Awka South where there were cases of over-voting and in Agulu, Anaocha council where people were accredited manually as well as in Idemili South where over-voting was recorded in two polling units.

Declaring the result of the rerun, the Returning Officer, Prof. Charles Esimone, said Umeh scored the highest number of votes cast with 64, 878 (95.6 percent of the votes cast) and therefore was returned elected.

Esimone, who is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics) of the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka said the total number of registered voters in the seven local government areas was 745, 828 out of which only 67, 872 (9.1 percent) were accredited.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner of INEC in Anambra, Dr Nkwachukwu Orji, thanked voters, election officials, observers and journalists for contributing to the success and peaceful conduct of the election.

The full result is as follows…

1. Oyeh Mercy Uche – AA – 35

2. Oby Kate Okafor – ACD – 33

3. Anayo A. Nweke – ADC – 57

4. Chris Ngige – APC – 975

5. Victor Umeh – APGA – 64,879

6. Christopher A. Chukwendu – GPN – 48

7. Okafor Ikechukwu – ID – 14

8. Chief Denis Oguguo – KOWA -12

9. Kingsley Chukwuma Nwofor – LP – 95

10. Ekweozo C. Nkem – MPPP – 111

11. Ubakamma J. Ikenna – NCP – 72

12. Charles O. Ekwueme – PDC – 5

13. Igwilo Michael C. – PPA – 116

14. Ikechukwu F. Obiekwe – UPP – 55

Newsworth recalls that the court had earlier on excluded the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, which had won the election in March 2015 from fielding a candidate in the rerun.

Although the name of Ngige, presently the Minister of Labour and Employment was on the ballot paper, he said he had told INEC since January 2016 that he wasn’t a candidate.

Wondering why the electoral body “mischievously included his name on the list of contestants” threatened to sue the commission for trying to ridicule him and use his name to give credibility to the election.


Leave a Reply