Council of State approves N30,000 Minimum wage for federal, N27,000 for state workers

Labour minister, Ngige while briefing newsmen

The National Council of State met on Tuesday and pegged the National Minimum wage at N27,000. This amount is for the least paid workers in the states and the private sector while Federal Government workers will take home N30,000 as their minimum wage.

The Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige, confirmed the development to State House Correspondents in Abuja, assuring that a bill to the effect would be sent to the National Assembly latest on Wednesday.

He stated that the Federal Government will increase the approved amount to 30,000 for workers in the federal civil service, adding that state governors can add to the approved amount if they so desire.

“The bill approved by the Council include N30,000 minimum wage for Federal workers and N27,000 for states and private sector,” he said.

The Minister said the council also approved frequency of review of five years for the minimum wage. It also approved exemptions for establishments that are not employing up to 25 persons.

He said the national minimum wage bill will be transmitted to the National Assembly before the close of work on Wednesday as agreed with organised labour.

Ngige said the council took into consideration the tripartite committee recommendations of N30,000, federal government’s proposal of N24,000 and the governors proposal of N22,700 before arriving at the decision.

Ngige assured that despite the announcement by the National Assembly to proceed on recess until after the elections, the concerned committees in the National Assembly will continue work on the bill.

Tuesday’s meeting in Abuja was attended by a former head of Nigeria’s Interim National Government, Ernest Shonekan; former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo and Goodluck Jonathan and former military head of state, Abdulsalami Abubakar.

Also in attendance were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and the Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

Others are former Chief Justice of the Federation, Mohammed Uwais, State governors in attendance include those of Osun, Kebbi, Zamfara, Plateau, Ebonyi, Adamawa, Edo, Lagos, Niger, Borno, Ogun, Ekiti, Kogi as well as the deputy governors of Bauchi, Kaduna, and Rivers.

Others present were the National Security Adviser, Babagana Monguno; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Boss Mustapha; Head of Service of the Federation, Winifred Oyo-Ita; Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Mohammed Bello; and Ngige.

Leave a Reply