Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2017 Ballon d’Or


Real Madrid and Portuguese forward, Cristiano Ronaldo has bested Barcelona’s talisman Lionel Messi to win the 2017 Ballon d’Or. Messi and Neymar made it to the final three for this year’s Ballon d’Or.

By this feat, the number 7 has now caught up with Messi, who also has won the prestigious award on five occasions, bringing the pair’s duopoly of the award to a staggering 10 years.


Ronaldo was the top-scorer in last season’s Champions League as Real successfully defended the trophy with victory over Juventus in June, and also led the Spanish giants to their first La Liga title in five years.


In a speech during the ceremony at the Eiffel Tower in Paris on Thursday night, the 32-year-old said, “of course I feel happy. This is something I look forward to every year.


“The trophies won last year helped to win this award. Thanks to the Real Madrid team-mates. And I want to thank the rest of the people who helped me reach this level.”


Ronaldo, who had won the FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award in October, clinched his first Ballon d’Or in 2008 and had to wait for five years before winning again in 2013.


The Portuguese star won again in 2014 while Messi took it back in 2015 before it returned to the Real Madrid star in 2016 and the latest one coming in 2017.


Gianluigi Buffon , Luka Modric , Sergio Ramos, Xavi, Kylian Mbappe, N’Golo Kante, Lewandowski and Harry Kane complete the list of top ten players in the world in that order.

Leave a Reply