Election results: Saraki loses Senate seat as APC sweeps Kwara, Melaye wins in Kogi


In what can be described as the first major upset in last Saturday’s National Assembly election, the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, who contested on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, was defeated by former majority leader in the state House of Assembly, Dr. Ibrahim Oloriegbe, of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

In results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Ilorin, Saraki with 68,994 votes, lost to Oloriegbe, who polled a total of 123,808 votes from the four local government areas that make up the senatorial district.

Saraki served as Director-General of the PDP Presidential Campaign, and many analysts believe that this role hampered him from concentrating in local campaigns and politicking in Kwara State.

A breakdown of the results shows that Saraki polled 11, 252 votes in Asa local government, 14,654 (Ilorin East) 13, 013 ( Ilorin South) and 30,075 votes in Ilorin West.

On the other hand, Oloriegbe of the APC polled 15,932 votes in Asa, 30,014 ( Ilorin East), 26,331 (Ilorin South) and 51,531votes in Ilorin West respectively.

There was wild jubilation among APC supporters who had assembled around the INEC office when the outcome of the election became known to them around 9.00pm.

With the result Saraki, a two-term governor and two-term federal legislator, has lost the opportunity to return to the upper chamber of the National Assembly where he has been since 2015.

Meanwhile, Saraki’s close ally, Senator Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has been declared winner of the Kogi West Senatorial election held on February 23.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Emmanuel Bala announced in the early hours of Monday in Lokoja that Melaye polled 85, 395 votes to defeat Senator Smart Adeyemi of the APC who scored 66, 901 votes.

Leave a Reply