IGP Idris removes Kogi police commissioner over escape of six suspects

IGP Idris

The Inspector-General of Police, IGP Ibrahim Idris, on Wednesday ordered the immediate removal of the Commissioner of Police in Kogi State, Ali Janga following the escape of six suspects from custody early this morning.

He also redeployed the Commander, Federal Special Anti-Robbery Squad in the state, the Divisional Police Officer ‘A’ Division, Lokoja and other police officers implicated in the escape for negligence, dereliction of duty and gross misconduct.

The IGP, who made this known in a statement by the Force Public Relations Officer, Jimoh Moshood, explained that the policemen are all facing serious disciplinary action.

He stated that the IGP was dissatisfied with the circumstances surrounding the escape of six suspects including two principal suspects (Kabiru Seidu aka Osama, Nuhu Salisu aka Small) who indicted Senator Dino Melaye and Mohammed Audu in a case of Conspiracy and Unlawful possession of Prohibited Firearm already filed at the Federal High Court, Lokoja which came up in court today (Wednesday).

The IG of Police also ordered the transfer out of the state and thirteen (13) other Police officers who are currently being detained and investigated for their roles in the escape.

The Kogi State Police Command had on Wednesday in Lokoja disclosed that the two suspects that named Senator Melaye as the supplier of guns to them had escaped from custody.

The Commissioner of Police in the state, Mr Ali Janga, disclosed this at a press conference in the state capital, adding that the two suspects, Kabiru Seidu alias Osama and Nuhu Salisu alias Small, escaped at about 3:21 a.m. at the A Police Division in Lokoja where they were being kept in lawful custody.

Jango stated that four other suspects escaped along with Seidu and Salisu, bringing the total number of fleeing suspects to six. He added that both Seidu and Salisu escaped on Wednesday when they were supposed to be arraigned before a Lokoja Federal High Court alongside Melaye and Mr Mohammed Audu who was also named by the suspects as their sponsor.

The commissioner identified Aliyu Isa , Adams Suleiman, Emmanuel Audu and Musa Mohammed as four other suspects that escaped from custody, stressing that 13 policemen comprising five operatives of Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, and eight conventional policemen on duty when the incident happened had been detained for interrogation.

“The 13 police officers who were on duty when the incident occurred were defaulted and detained for interrogation,” he said.

Janga also stated that the names of the six fleeing suspects and that of Dino Melaye and Mohammed Audu had been sent for watch listing by the Interpol for immediate arrest anywhere they are found.

The police commissioner pleaded with residents to assist the police with useful information on the whereabouts of the suspects by reporting to the nearest police station.

The police enjoined members of the public to go about their lawful businesses as the command was in full control of the situation and determined to provide adequate security for lives and property.

Leave a Reply