Kano Assembly Speaker, Ata impeached

Kano House of Assembly

The Speaker of the Kano state House of Assembly, Abdullahi Ata, was on Monday impeached by the members who immediately elected Al Hassan Rurum as the new Speaker.

The motion for Ata’s impeachment was raised by Labaran Madari, member representing Warawa constituency, and seconded by Abdullahi Muhammed, the lone member of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the assembly.

The 40-member Assembly resumed on Monday from two-month recess.

About 27 lawmakers on Monday morning signed the impeachment notice which was served on the Speaker upon his arrival at the House.

The former Speaker is being accused of incompetence, corruption, and failure to carry other members of the Assembly along.

The Majority Leader of the House has also been impeached and replaced with Bappa Babba, while Kabiru Hassan is the new Deputy Majority Leader and Abdulrahaman Madari as the Chief Whip.

On May 15, 24 members of the assembly commenced impeachment proceedings against Ata but the state governor intervened in the crisis.

Leave a Reply