Tribunal declares PDP’s Adeleke winner of Osun election

Senator Adeleke

The Osun State Governorship Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Abuja has declared the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and its candidate, Sen. Ademola Adelek, in the 2018 governorship election in the state as winner of the September 27 rerun election.

The three-man panel of the tribunal gave the judgement on Friday following the petition filed by the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Senator Ademola Adeleka against the All Progressives Congress, APC and its candidate, Gboyega Oyetola.

The tribunal also ruled that PDP and Adeleke proved that it was the state Returning Officer who cancelled the results in seven polling units, adding that the petitioners also proved that the Returning Officer has no power to cancel election results of a polling unit.

The Tribunal also agreed to deduct 2,029 votes from APC scores and 1,246 votes from PDP votes in 17 polling units where there was non compliance, and held that APC and its candidate, Gboyega Oyetola, were not validly returned.

Leave a Reply